Timothy Leary, Psychedelics, and Dreams

I haven’t dug much into Timothy Leary’s work but I find him to be somewhat of an inspiring person. This is mostly thanks to one of his greatest quotes.

“Think for yourself. Question authority. Throughout human history, as our species has faced the frightening, terrorizing fact that we do not know who we are, or where we are going in this ocean of chaos, it has been the authorities, the political, the religious, the educational authorities who attempted to comfort us by giving us order, rules, regulations, informing, forming in our minds their view of reality. To think for yourself you must question authority and learn how to put yourself in a state of vulnerable, open-mindedness; chaotic, confused, vulnerability to inform yourself. Think for yourself. Question authority.”

Leary was a Harvard Psychology professor somewhere in the 1950’s/1960’s. Some of his experiments involved his students, in which they were given psychedelic drugs to determine whether or not psychedelics had a positive effect on the mind. After Leary had first taken “magic mushrooms” to study the effect on himself, he stated that he had “learned more about … (his) brain and its possibilities … [and] more about psychology in the five hours after taking these mushrooms than … in the preceding 15 years of studying and doing research in psychology.”

This just makes me wonder, what were the things he learned about the brain and its possibilities? I do know that many occultists take psychedelics such as DMT to help with obtaining a metaphysical state of being or performing an astral projection. Now now, I don’t support drug abuse or taking drugs for fun; I have had enough bad experience with family members who ruined their lives with such substances, so I really don’t wanna try it. What is interesting to me about DMT though is that it might be naturally produced by the brain while sleeping in REM state (I say might because it is unknown, but erowid seems to be a reliable source for drug information: http://www.erowid.org/ask/ask.php?ID=3146).

Something I realize quickly when discussing my own dreams is that most people have either really short and simple dreams or they don’t remember their dreams at all. I’ve had some pretty trippy dreams that seem to last a good bit even though there doesn’t really seem to be any sense of time in my dreams. I could just be another delusional loony, but it seems like my dreams which I remember quite often have some sort of occult meaning to them.  I usually only remember my dreams if I wake up completely on my own, if there is a distraction they become forgotten very quickly. When dreaming its like we are taken to a completely different place with different limits, who knows? I want to start lucid dreaming, I feel like it might be a good way to learn about myself but it is pretty hard to do.

I have had a lucid dream twice, but both were pretty lousy lucid dreams which caused me to wake up to the fact that it was just so weird.

First lucid dream: I woke up (in a dream) in a completely empty room, I stood up and a had concentrated on lucid dreaming before falling asleep so I had become very conscious in my dream. I walked up to the wall and pushed both of my hands against it with intent to go through it but something different happened, the pushing of the wall made the room start spinning or rolling slowly and it felt very strange and I woke up for real.

Second lucid dream: I went to bed with music playing (pandora radio) and luckily a song had come on about sleeping which made me conscious that I was dreaming. First thing I do realizing this is fly straight forward at top speed over a bunch of mountain tops that became a fuzzy blur. This was such an amazing feeling that I couldn’t handle it and woke up.

I’m not to sure about this one, but I’ve also heard that your brain can release DMT if you face a near death situation. Sounds iffy, but makes a lot of sense considering the amount of spiritual experiences people claim to have had when they were about to face death.

/end strange blog post

Leave a Reply

